Show All Answers
Please visit Cape Air at www.capeair.com, call them at 800-227-3247, or visit our Book a Flight page.
You can report noise complaints or other matters by sending an email to email@example.com.
Federal Aviation Administration design criteria in-place since the early 1980s shows that the Runway Safety Areas should extend 1,000 feet beyond each of the 4 runway ends at Lebanon Airport; and 3 out of 4 runway ends to not meet criteria. The Runway Safety Area Project is to improve the Runway Safety Areas to design criteria. Please call the Airport Manager at 603-298-8878 with any questions or concerns.
Airline (Cape Air), aircraft hangars and tie downs, Granite Air Center at 603-298-6555. Also we offer aircraft maintenance, service, and catering (Granite Air Center), helicopter sales, service. Flight instructions are also available through Sharkey's Helicopters at 603-298-8728, flight instruction, discovery flights, and scenic flights with Leading Edge Aviation - Northeast 603-298-8191. Also we offer aircraft charter through Catamount Air Transport, 603-298-8191. For more information, please visit our website at https://flyleb.com.
Helicopter flight instruction, discovery flights, and scenic flights provided by Sharkeys Helicopters, contact them at 603-298-8728 or
Definitely! Contact Airport Manager at 603-298-8878 or firstname.lastname@example.org or visit our Tours and Outings page.
Drone flyers are required to obtain prior authorization from the FAA before flying in controlled airspace around airports. For more information, please visit the
USING A CRANE NEAR THE LEBANON AIRPORT
The Federal Aviation Administration requires a permit for ANY crane work within a 3-mile radius of any airport. The distance may be increased if the work is in the direct line of a runway – considered to be within the “glide path” of aircraft during takeoff or landing. The glide path is defined as a 1 foot per 100 feet slope beginning at the closest point of any runway. Work may be allowed if the max. height of the crane is below the glide path after compensations for topographical elevations are calculated.
You must file with the FAA at least 45 days prior to construction if:
If you require additional information regarding the filing requirements for your structure, please identify and contact the appropriate FAA representative using the Air Traffic Areas of Responsibility map for Off Airport construction, or contact the FAA Airports Region / District Office for On Airport construction.
The FAA hosts a web based tool to assist contractors in determining if a hazard exists and if an FAA Permit is required at: https://oeaaa.faa.gov/oeaaa/external/gisTools/gisAction.jsp?action=showNoNoticeRequiredToolForm.
The consequences of not having an FAA permit are:1) the jobsite will be shut down and2) a substantial fine.
Examples of vehicles which cannot be renewed online: - Boats - Vehicles weighing 26,001 lbs or more
Payment by bank account (checking or savings) is free. Payment by credit card is: Approximately 2.95% is charged for each payment transaction.
You will need to surrender your title which will be attached to a title application prepared by our office and mailed to the State of New Hampshire Title Bureau. The Title Bureau will process a New Hampshire title and mail it to you within 3 to 4 weeks. However, if you still make payments, your title will be mailed to your lien holder.
With the exception of leased vehicles, registrations will be processed through the first owner’s birth month. First time registrations cannot be issued for less than five months or more than sixteen months. The first time is prorated. Renewals are done at twelve month intervals and are not prorated. If you are a college student and don’t wish to change your residency to New Hampshire, please visit our page for students for further information prior to your visit. New residents have 60 days upon establishing residency to obtain a New Hampshire drivers license and register their vehicles, view the DMV website for more details.
Certified copies of birth, death, divorce, and marriage records may be requested in person, online, or by mail. For further information on the process, or to download an application, please visit our Requesting Vital Records page.
New Hampshire residents, as well as non-residents, who wish to marry in the State of New Hampshire must file for a marriage license. For complete details, please review our Applying for a Marriage License page.
The City Clerk's Office maintains a list of local New Hampshire Justices of the Peace and their contact information. Please visit their Justices of the Peace page.
It is a common misconception that your name automatically changes when married, however that is not the case. Changing your name is a process you have to do yourself. Find out how to begin the process of changing your name by visiting our Changing Your Name After Marriage page.
The City Clerk's Office, located on the second floor of the Lebanon City Hall building, does offer notary services. Please visit their Notary Services page for complete details.
Charge of lots. The following prices are established as the purchase prices for cemetery lots and their perpetual care (perpetual care is 50% of a grave lot cost):
(1) Each full grave: $600. (Grave lot cost is $300 Perpetual care is $300)
(2) Each infant grave: $250 (Grave lot cost is $125 Perpetual care is $125) (applies to Glenwood and Valley Cemeteries only in the areas specifically laid out for infant burials).
(3) Each cremation grave: $250 (Grave lot cost is $125 Perpetual care is $125) (applies only in the cemetery areas specifically laid out for cremation burials).
Cremations. In the case of cremation interment, the following provisions shall apply:
Minimum purchase is one grave space. Maximum number of cremation-type interments shall be six per grave space (except in the case of combining full and cremation burials in which only one full burial and five cremation burials per grave will be allowed).
Lebanon cemeteries can be located at the following addresses:
Glenwood / Mount Calvary Cemeteries
117 Dulac Street
Lebanon, NH 03766
Sacred Heart / Valley Cemeteries
258 Mascoma Street
School Street Cemetery
30 School Street
Upper Valley Jewish Community Cemetery
267 Mascoma Street
Old Pine Tree Cemetery
Old Pine Tree Cemetery Road
West Lebanon Cemetery
Off Pleasant Street
West Lebanon, NH 03784
108 Great Brook Road
685 Dartmouth College Highway
Visit our Cemetery Information page for additional details.
To learn more, read Chapter 46.
CATV currently broadcasts City Council meetings, Planning Board meetings, and School Board meetings. Council meetings are broadcast at 8:00pm on the night following the meeting.
You can view video recordings of City Council Meetings and Planning Board Meetings on the CATV website.
For information on other meetings, please visit the CATV website.
The City of Lebanon is committed to keeping its citizens apprised of City related news, announcements, alerts, events, and opportunities. Discover the many ways you can receive communication and news about the City of Lebanon at LebanonNH.gov/Subscribe.
Lebanon Outcomes are a set of initiatives developed with all City Departments to assist in the implementation of activities that will bring Lebanon closer to becoming a sustainable community. For more information or to share your ideas or suggestions, please contact the City Manager's Office at 603-448-4220. More information about the Outcomes can be found by visiting the Lebanon Outcomes page.
The Lebanon District Court can be reached by calling 603-643-3555. You can also visit the Grafton County District Divisions - Lebanon page for more details.
The Lebanon Post Office on East Park Street can be reached by calling 603-448-2348 or by visiting the USPS.com Lebanon page.
We are sorry you have encountered a broken link or missing information on our website. We appreciate your input as we strive to maintain this community resource. To report this problem, please submit the information using our Resident Request Form. Choose "website" from the topic dropdown list. Thank you!
Lebanon In Depth was a televised production, hosted by retired City Manager Greg Lewis, which presented a behind-the-scenes analysis of Lebanon City operations and its effect on Lebanon residents. The program was produced and filmed by Community Access Television (CATV) and can now be found on the City's Lebanon in Depth YouTube channel. The program was discontinued when Manager Lewis retired.
The City of Lebanon extends its special thanks to CATV for granting its permission to reproduce and post Lebanon in Depth on the City's website.
The City Manager is available through many lines of communication.
Phone: 603-448-4220Fax: 603-966-3122Email: email@example.comMailing Address: 51 North Park Street, Lebanon, NH, 03766
While you do not need to have an appointment, having a scheduled time is the best way to assure that you receive enough time to express your concerns, ideas, and more. Unless unavailable due to an appointment, meeting, etc the City Manager's door is always open.
Yes, an application must be filed with the City Manager's Office. Complete the application in the Office of the City Manager or by visiting the Licensing Board page.
Lebanon Recreation and Parks Department maintains two "skate at your own risk" ice rinks at Pat Walsh Park - one for open skating and one for hockey. Features of the rink is that there is seating, and it is lit up at night. We are always striving to make good ice. Relay questions about the rink to
Septage disposal fees for residents of Lebanon are $91 per 1,000 gallons. For properties located outside of Lebanon the fee is $136 per 1,000 gallons. (Fees cover disposal at the Treatment Plant and do not include cost of hauling by a private hauler.)
RV wastewater can be disposed of at the Lebanon Wastewater Treatment Plant Monday - Friday, 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.: Weekends and holidays, 7 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. The cost is $34 per RV.
The Treatment Plant address is:
28 Market Street
A permit must be obtained from the City of Lebanon before discharging industrial waste. Pleaserefer to Lebanon City Code Chapter 136, Article IV, for complete details. To obtain a permit you must submit an application to the Wastewater Treatment Plant Superintendent or Chief of Quality Assurance. You can download a copy of the application from our website or call the Lebanon Wastewater Plant at 603-298-5986 to request a copy.
Contact the Jay Cairelli, Assistant Director of Public Works at 603-448-3112 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org
To find a map of water/sewer lines in the City, please visit our GIS Maps site at LebanonNH.gov/GIS, click on the Themes button, then select “Utilities-Water and Drainage” and/or “Utilities-Sewer System”. For more information on how to use the GIS “Themes” feature, please see https://help.mapgeo.io/themes.html.
The City's snow removal policy is available by viewing the Snow Removal and Ice Control Plan located on the Public Works Winter Operations page.
Please visit the State of New Hampshire Building Code Review Board website.
To schedule a building inspection, please contact the Planning & Development Department 48-hours prior to the time you would like the inspection to occur.
To schedule a fire inspection, please contact the Lebanon Fire Department directly.
Come into the Codes Office located at City Hall at:
51 N Park Street
Or you may print off any permit applications. View our landing page which directs to various permit categories, the
For more details view the Excavation Permit (PDF).
For complete details, please visit our Dog Licensing page.
If you are a Lebanon resident and 18 years of age or older you can register to vote in the City of Lebanon. For a list of what is required to register to vote and for more information, please visit our Registering to Vote page.
You can register to vote at any of the following locations:
To register to vote, you must prove your identity, age, and residency. The following documents can be used for proof.
To prove identity:
To prove age:
To prove residency:
For more information view NH Voter ID Law RSA 659:13.
If you do not have photo ID and you need to register to vote, you will be asked to show a birth certificate to confirm your identity. If you do not have your birth certificate, you will be asked to sign a Qualified Voter Affidavit attesting to your identity.
Like the Challenged Voter Affidavit (CVA), the Secretary of State’s office will follow-up after the election, with any voter who signs a Qualified Voter Affidavit.
In order to receive a ballot, you will still need to either complete a CVA (with photograph or Affidavit of Religious Exemption) or have your identity verified by an election official.
One of the acceptable forms of ID is personal verification by certain election workers. If an election worker can personally identify you, that will serve as your photo ID. The election worker will sign a statement as to their personal knowledge of you. Please keep in mind, only certain election officials are allowed to identify you. Those officials are the Moderator, Supervisors of the Checklist, Ward Clerk, City Clerk and Deputy City Clerk. No other election worker is approved by law to identify you.
If an election worker cannot identify you and you do not have a photo ID, you can complete a Challenged Voter Affidavit (CVA). Part of completing the affidavit requires you to have your photograph taken. If you cannot allow your photograph to be taken due to religious beliefs, you will be asked to also complete a Religious Exemption Affidavit in lieu of having a photograph taken.
If you do not have a Photo ID, please tell one of the Greeters working at the polls. The Greeters will then direct you to the proper Election Official for assistance. It is important to know that if an election worker cannot identify you and you refuse to complete any portion of the Challenged Voter Affidavit or refuse to either have your photograph taken or sign an Affidavit of Religious Exemption, you will not be permitted to vote.
Yes, qualified voters can register and vote on Election Day at their polling location. Please review the documentation you will need to provide in order to register to vote. To determine the correct polling location please consult our Ward-by-Street list or visit the Secretary of State’s Voter Information Look-Up.
The City of Lebanon has three separate voting wards. Polling locations for the wards are as follows:
Ward 1Kilton Public Library80 Main Street, West Lebanon, NH 03784
Ward 2Methodist Church18 School Street Lebanon, NH 03766
Ward 3Council Chambers5th Floor City Hall (Elevator Available)51 N Park Street Lebanon, NH 03766
Polling hours for all three wards will be 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. To determine which ward you are in, please contact the City Clerk’s Office at 603-448-3054 or visit the State of New Hampshire Voter Information Look-Up.
Consider signing up for the Citizens Academy through the City of Lebanon. Not only will you learn more about elections and other function of the City Clerk’s Office, but you will also learn about all other City departments and your local government. For more information, visit the Citizens Academy website or contact the City Manager’s Office.
If you complete a Challenged Voter Affidavit (CVA), you will receive a verification letter from the Secretary of State requesting confirmation that you voted in the election. If you do not respond in writing to the Secretary of State within 90 days of the date it was mailed, the Attorney General will conduct an investigation to determine whether fraudulent voting occurred.
- 1 Moderator - 1 Ward Clerk - 3 Supervisors of the Checklist - 4 Ballot Clerks.
For a large election, such as this one, we often have several extra election workers to help with the various duties. For this election, we expect to have 4-6 extra workers per ward helping the voters get their ballots cast in an efficient manner as possible.
All polling locations have wheelchair-accessible voting booths, space available at tables in the room and the “One4All Accessible Voting System.” This system utilizes a tablet, headphones, and a printer to assist voters who are hearing or visually impaired. This booth is also large enough to accommodate a wheelchair.
If you require assistance at any time, please ask an Election Official for help. He or she will not be able to answer questions about or discuss the individual candidates, but they can assist you in filling out your ballot at your direction. Voters with a disability can also bring someone to assist them; they do not have to have an Election Official assist them. (The exception is the person assisting can’t be the voter’s employer or union representative.) Anyone who is assisting the voter must take an oath.
External postings may be reviewed at City Hall. City Hall is open to the public during the weekday hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. All open positions are posted in accordance with current City policies and collective bargaining agreements. Positions for which external recruitment has been authorized are posted on our Job Opportunities page.
The Human Resources office can be found on the 2nd floor of the City Hall building located at:
Lebanon City Hall51 N. Park St.Lebanon, NH 03766
You may contact Human Resources by phone at 603-448-0683. View additional contact information such as email, office hours, and more on the Human Resources page.
Please visit our Application Process page for complete details on applying for jobs listed by the City of Lebanon.
Employment verification requests should be directed to the City's Finance department at 603-448-0682.
All offers of employment are contingent upon an applicant’s successful completion of a background investigation. The extent and nature of the background investigation will depend upon the position for which the applicant is being considered and may include such inquiries as a criminal background check, motor vehicle check, pre-employment physical, testing, etc.
For questions, please contact the Lebanon Fire Department at 603-448-8810. After obtaining the burn permit, the Lebanon Dispatch Center must be notified at 603-448-1212 before starting the fire and again after the fire has been extinguished. To learn more about open burn permits, please see our Open Burning Rules page.
Yes, a permit is required to camp in the Boston Lot conservation area. Currently, the required forms cannot be completed online. Please email us at email@example.com or visit the Planning & Development Office, Monday - Friday, 8 am. - 4 p.m. for more information. To learn more about the Boston Lot Conservation Area, and to view a map, please visit our Boston Lot page.
Yes, see the Planning Board Fee Schedule (PDF).
Yes, the City of Lebanon Master Plan was adopted by City Council in 2012. You can view the plan in its entirety and learn more about its implementation at LebanonNH.gov/MasterPlan.
To find a map of water/sewer lines in the City, please visit our GIS Maps site at https://LebanonNH.gov/GIS, click on the Themes button, then select “Utilities-Water and Drainage” and/or “Utilities-Sewer System”. For more information on how to use the GIS “Themes” feature, please see https://help.mapgeo.io/themes.html.
Instructions for paying your ticket are located on your ticket. Please read your ticket carefully. Payment options depend upon the type of ticket you receive. The following is a brief overview of payment options available for each type of ticket.
Parking Ticket - Payment Options
Choose one of 2 options below:
Motor Vehicle Violation - Payment Options
Choose one of 4 options below for payment of guilty and Nolo Contendere pleas only:
Possession of Marijuana or Hashish Violation - Payment Options
Choose one of 3 options below for payment of guilty and Nolo Contendere please only:
The below featured map shows the various parking areas in Downtown Lebanon. All spaces shown on the map are timed and enforced. Motorists should pay particular attention to the spaces on S. Park Street signed, "Vendor Parking Only." These spaces are reserved daily from 7AM to 9PM for various permitted vendors. Those who park in the "Vendor Parking Only" spaces are not only subject to fines, but may be towed so that Vendors can bring their vehicles in. Overtime parking is subject to a $10 fine with each additional time period violation constituting a separate offense. The enforcement of time parked ensures adequate turnover of parking spaces so there is amply parking for all who wish to enjoy the downtown area. The areas shaded in yellow and marked "AD" are All Day parking spaces.
Handicap spaces are highlighted by a blue square along with the international symbol of access. These vehicles are subject to time restrictions for the time limit location in which they are parked.
For winter parking information visit our Winter Parking FAQ page.
The City of Lebanon does not have an Animal Control Department or Animal Control Officer. Please review the following information if you need to report an animal control issue.
Wildlife and Agricultural Animals
Yes, vehicles bearing a valid disabled parking permit are subject to any time restrictions for the parking space or time limit location in which they are parked.
The Lebanon Police Department performs fingerprinting services only for City of Lebanon residents, the Lebanon School District, and for Lebanon businesses. Fingerprinting is only done on Thursdays between the hours of 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM or on Saturdays between 9:00 AM and 12:00 PM.
Please Note: While we do our best to provide fingerprinting services, there are instances where it is not possible to accommodate requests at that time due to emergency calls, arrests, or special events. You may call 603-448-1212 ahead of time to see if fingerprinting will be possible, however, please know that sometimes an emergency call will come in between the time of your call and when you arrive and may change things. We appreciate your understanding.
In order to have any reference to your arrest removed from public facing police logs, social media, or other posts on the City of Lebanon website, you must apply and be approved for a court-ordered annulment.
Once an approved annulment is received from the court, the police department removes any mention of the arrest from the City website and social media networks.
An annulment must be requested from the court where the conviction occurred. If you were just arrested but never found guilty, the annulment would need to be filed in the court where the case was heard.
We do not control references to any arrests that may be posted on websites not controlled by the City of Lebanon to include, but not limited to; news and media pages, blogs, search engines, and social media.
The City of Lebanon's Winter Parking Ban begins on December 1st and continues through April 1st, between the hours of 12:00 am and 6:00 am.
The City of Lebanon's Winter Parking Ban begins on December 1st and continues through April 1st, between the hours of 12:00 am and 6:00 am.
City of Lebanon Code 168-06 “Winter Parking” prohibits the parking of vehicles during the above date and times on any street in the City of Lebanon. Per the ordinance:
Additional rules to follow include:
Questions regarding the winter parking ban can be directed to the Public Works Department at 603-448-3112.
Winter Parking Ban Map
Once the Winter Parking Ban is in effect, if your vehicle is parked on a street or restricted parking lot and is impeding snow removal, the Public Works Department may ask the Police Department to have the vehicle towed. If time allows, Dispatch will make every effort to contact the registered owner of the vehicle to have it moved prior to towing.
If your vehicle is parked in a private parking lot and impeding snow removal, the owner of the property may have your vehicle towed at their discretion, in which case the Police Department may not be aware.
Any towing cost incurred is the responsibility of the vehicle owner.
Please note: An accident report where one of the drivers has court action pending cannot be released until the case has been cleared from court. When reports are ready, they will be mailed. If you have any questions about your accident please contact the investigating officer or on duty supervisor at 603-448-1212. For additional information view the Records Request Form (PDF)
If you receive a suspicious phone call and feel it is a scam, hang up and take these steps:
Information on consumer scam alerts can be found on the New Hampshire Office of the Attorney General website.
If you feel you are the victim of a scam in Lebanon, please feel free to call Lebanon Police at 603-448-1212.
For some of the most common scams we see and tips on how to avoid becoming the victim of a scam, please visit our Types of Scams & Prevention page.
Lebanon residents can apply for a permit to carry a loaded, concealed, pistol or revolver on their person or in their vehicle. Further information is available by visiting our Records Office page.
A Sound Permit Application must be received at the police department at least three days prior to your event. Sound Permits are granted for events taking place from 8 am to 8 pm Monday through Saturday, and from 1 pm to 5 pm on Sundays per City Code, Chapter 110. If your event falls out of these time frames, special permission needs to be granted by the City Council. Once submitted and approved by the Chief of Police, an orange paper will be issued to the applicant to have on hand at their event. For further information view the
The prosecutor’s office handles well over 1,000 adult cases at a time, Administrative License Suspension cases, Mental Health Court cases, Diversion cases, and is in court a minimum of two full days per week. For this reason, the best way to contact the prosecutor is to set up an appointment to meet, or speak via e-mail. Because of the high volume of cases, it could be one (1) to three (3) weeks before you receive an e-mail response. You are encouraged not to leave voicemails as it could be several weeks before you receive a response and your issue may well have been resolved by that point.
Do not contact the Police Prosecutor until 1 week prior to your arraignment.
Although there are exceptions, typically, an arraignment date will be approximately 8 weeks after an incident. Those accused of offenses who wish to discuss their case should not contact the Prosecutor until at least 5 weeks after an incident. The Prosecutor’s office is not in a realistic position to discuss cases with the accused until this time.
You will need to follow the instructions on the ticket(s), and answer it before the deadline listed. You have the option of challenging the ticket, or paying the ticket. You may pay the ticket via mail or directly to the Lebanon Circuit Court if the ticket is for a violation level possession of marijuana, or you may pay motor vehicle tickets via mail or directly to the Department of Motor Vehicles. You may pay parking tickets via mail or directly to Lebanon City Hall or the Lebanon Police Department. If you choose to challenge a ticket, you will need to follow the appropriate instructions on the ticket. The Court will then mail you a scheduling notice with a specific date and time you will need to be at Court. If the ticket issued says “must appear,” then you are required to be at Court on the date and time listed.
If you have been ordered to appear and released on a summons or complaint, you must appear at the time and date ordered by the Police Officer. A hand summons has weight similar to bail conditions. Failing to appear for the Court date can result in criminal charges.
An arraignment date is a time for you to first appear at court and plead guilty or not guilty to the charge that has been brought against you. If you do not appear at the time and place you are ordered, an arrest warrant will immediately be issued by the court, and you will be subjected to arrest and detention after the date of the arraignment. When you appear, you will have 2 options, to plead guilty or not guilty. If you plead guilty, you must complete an acknowledgement and waiver of rights. The sentence for your offense can take a variety of paths. You can discuss those with the prosecutor, or plead guilty and discuss them with the Judge at the time of arraignment. If you plead not guilty, your date will be set for trial. At this time, bail may be reviewed. If you are charged with a Class A Misdemeanor or Felony, you may apply for a court appointed attorney by filling out a form at the clerk’s window. In all cases, you can hire your own attorney to defend you.
The right to a speedy, public, and impartial trial is guaranteed to every citizen by the United States Constitution, as well as the New Hampshire Constitution. In Circuit Court, the case is tried without a jury, and the Judge performs the jury's function of weighing the evidence, determining the credibility of witnesses, and issuing a verdict.
At trial, the prosecutor introduces the State's case first, and calls witnesses to testify. Those witnesses take an oath to tell the truth issued by the Judge, or the attorney asking the questions. The prosecutor then conducts a direct examination of the witnesses, and is required to ask open-ended questions designed for the witness to tell their story. The defense attorney then conducts a cross examination of the witness, and will likely ask only leading questions designed to tell the accused’s story, or designed to make a specific point that is instrumental to the defense. The prosecutor will then have a second opportunity to ask open-ended questions in a redirect examination, followed by the defense attorney having a second opportunity to conduct a recross examination. The redirect and recross examinations are typically much shorter than the initial questioning, and sometimes, are not even necessary.
Following the testimony of all of the State’s witnesses and introduction of all of its evidence, the State will rest its case. Typically, for procedural and tactical reasons, the defense attorney will immediately ask the judge to dismiss the case. If the Judge denies the request to dismiss at that time, the defense attorney will have an opportunity to call its witnesses to testify, or to call the accused himself/herself to testify. The accused is not required to submit any evidence of any kind. If the defense does call witnesses, that testimony will follow the same outline the prosecutor followed in the first half of the trial. The defense will rest at the end of their presentation of evidence as the State previously did.
After the State and defense have both rested, the Judge will make a determination whether the State proved the elements of charged offenses beyond a reasonable doubt. Sometimes the Judge will ask for arguments from the prosecutor or defense before making a decision. If the Judge determines that the State met the beyond a reasonable doubt burden of proof, they will find the accused guilty. If not, the Judge will find the accused not guilty.
Witnesses in most criminal cases will be served a subpoena to appear in court. The subpoena is a record for the Prosecutor that the witness was notified, and demonstrates to the Court that the State has made a good faith effort to proceed with the case. The subpoena places the witness under a legal obligation to appear at the listed date and time for the hearing, and to remain until the trial is completed or the witness is excused.
In a criminal case in the State of New Hampshire, the only “parties” to a case are the accused and the State of New Hampshire. Only the State of New Hampshire and the accused can file motions with the court in the criminal matter. If a witness is unavailable, it is critical that they notify the prosecutor so that a motion to reschedule can be filed, but the decision to reschedule is ultimately up to the Judge. Failing to be present at court on the date and time listed on a subpoena may result in criminal contempt charges, possible fines, jail time, and/or probation.
Witnesses should appear at least fifteen minutes before the listed trial time to review any statements which had been given to the Police and have any questions answered. If you arrive early, look for the Officer who investigated the incident, or the Prosecutor.
TRIAL DATE AND TIME
The dates and times of court trials are set by the Clerk of Court's office at the Lebanon Circuit Court. The Clerk sends a scheduling notice to the Police Department and other parties, and then the prosecutor’s office issues subpoenas to any non-law enforcement witnesses. The dates or times of a Court date can only be changed by the Judge after a motion is filed by either by the State or the accused.
There are times when a case does not proceed to trial at the time listed on the Court Docket. The delay is often a result of an earlier scheduled case taking more time than was anticipated by the Court. The Police Department has no control over these scenarios. These delays typically do not last very long without the Court making some accommodations, however there may be exceptions.
There are also times when a case does not proceed to trial because a non-trial resolution is reached just before trial. Typically, the prosecutor has advanced notice of plea agreements, and their office will notify witnesses prior to trial that they are released from their subpoenas. However, unfortunately in those cases that an agreement is reached shortly before trial begins, advanced notice is not possible.
There are no specific requirements for court attire. However, the Court is a professional environment and demands respect from all who enter. It is recommended that all who attend are well groomed and wear business, or business casual clothing. Additionally, while not required, it is recommended that arrangements for child care be made ahead of the date and time of trial.
It is possible that the Judge may order the sequestration of witnesses. The intent is to ensure that the testimony of one witness will not influence the testimony of another. If sequestration is ordered, each witness who may be called to give testimony in a trial will be instructed not to discuss his or her testimony or any aspect of the case with anybody, either before or after he or she testifies, until the trial is over. When sequestered, witnesses will not be allowed to observe any other testimony prior to their testimony. Violation of an order of sequestration may result in a mistrial, and/or criminal contempt charges against the violating witness.
Witnesses who are subpoenaed to appear in the Lebanon Circuit Court are allowed a witness fee, set by the State of New Hampshire, for each day or part of a day they are in attendance. The State also pays a mileage fee, set by the State of New Hampshire, round trip to the Courthouse. The witness fee and mileage allowance are combined in one check.
Upon arrival at Court, you will check in with the Court Bailiffs or at the Clerk's Office. You will need to fill out paperwork to ensure compensation. Once you are done testifying, you need to report back to the Clerk's Office. The Clerk will send your compensation request to the State of New Hampshire. Witnesses should expect several weeks before payment is received.
VICTIMS – RIGHTS
Victims of certain offenses in the State of New Hampshire are entitled to additional rights than a typical witness. For more information, see http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/I/21-M/21-M-8-k.htm. If you are a victim pursuant to the laws of the State of New Hampshire, an advocate from the Grafton County Attorney’s Office or the Lebanon Prosecutor will reach out to you as soon as possible to update you on the status of the pending matter.
Generally, the maximum penalty for a violation level offense is a $1,000.00 fine, plus 24% penalty assessment (total $1,240.00).
Generally, the maximum penalty for a B misdemeanor level offense is a $1,200.00 fine, plus 24% penalty assessment (total $1,488.00).
On April 1, 2017, the Felonies First program which was passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor went into effect. All Felony level offenses are now prosecuted by the Grafton County Attorney’s Office and hearings occur at the Grafton County Superior Court. Any and all questions regarding the status of these cases should be directed to the Grafton County Attorney’s Office, see http://www.co.grafton.nh.us/all-departments/attorneys-office/, or the Grafton County Superior Court, see https://www.courts.state.nh.us/courtlocations/grafsupedir.htm.
All Juvenile hearings are heard at the 2nd Circuit Court – Family Division – Lebanon. For questions regarding hearing dates, please contact the Lebanon Family Court, see https://www.courts.state.nh.us/courtlocations/famgraftdir.htm. Follow the same procedures for checking in with the Court Bailiffs or Clerk's Office as in an adult case. Juvenile proceedings are not open to the public and are held in rooms separate from those used for adult criminal trials. Important: it is a criminal offense to disclose the names or addresses of juveniles involved in Juvenile offenses.
MISDEMEANOR AND VIOLATION CASES
All misdemeanor, violation, and city ordinance cases are heard in the 2nd Circuit Court – District Division – Lebanon. For questions about court dates, pending charges, or how to file motions to continue or other requests, please contact the 2nd Circuit Court – District Division – Lebanon, see https://www.courts.state.nh.us/courtlocations/grafdistdir.htm.
No. NH RSA 159:19 Courtroom Security: No person shall knowingly carry a loaded or unloaded pistol, revolver, or firearm or any other deadly weapon as defined in RSA 625:11, whether open or concealed or whether licensed or unlicensed, upon his or her person or within any of his possessions owned or within his or her control in courtroom or area used by a court. Whoever violates the provisions of this paragraph shall be guilty of a class B felony. The provisions of this section shall not apply to marshals, sheriffs, policemen or other duly appointed or elected law enforcement officers, bailiffs and court security officers, or persons with prior authorization of the court for the purpose of introducing weapons into evidence.
No plea will be entered on your behalf, and a probable cause hearing will be set within 20 days.
Generally, the maximum penalty for an A misdemeanor level offense is a $2,000.00 fine, plus 24% penalty assessment (total, $2,480.00), 12 months in the House of Corrections, and 2 years of probation. If you are charged with an A misdemeanor, you may be eligible for court appointed counsel if you qualify for financial reasons. Please contact the 2nd Circuit Court – District Division – Lebanon for information on how to apply for court appointed counsel if you wish to do so. See https://www.courts.state.nh.us/courtlocations/grafdistdir.htm.
To register online, please visit LebanonNH.gov/Register to create a new account or login using Facebook, Google, or email. Once you are logged in, you can choose the activity you are interested in, select the member of your household, check out, or continue browsing. Check out the guide.
If you are a performer looking to book a performance for our Summer Concert Series, please send an email to Krissy Flythe with the series you are interested in the subject line, and a contact number, website to listen to your music, and your fee range in the body of the message. If you aren't online, you can send a promo kit to the Recreation and Parks Department office.
If you are interested in a job at Camp Kaleidoscope, please contact the Recreation and Parks Department.
For more information about Camp Kaleidoscope, please visit LebanonNH.gov/CampK.
For information on becoming a vendor at the Lebanon Farmers Market, please visit the LebanonFarmersMarket.org where you will find applications for new and returning vendors as well as application deadline information.
If you have ideas for new programs, please contact the Recreation & Parks Department and speak with Paul, Rick, or Krissy. For senior programs you can speak with Krissy Flythe. For 18+ programs you can speak with Paul Coats. For 18+ sports programs you can speak with Rick Desharnais.
If you are interested in volunteering to lead a youth program, please contact the Recreation & Parks Department at 603-448-5121. For question regarding leading programs and special events, please contact Krissy Flythe.
Romp and Stomp is for children ages 2 - 4, where they can join us for a mixture of movement exploration, finger play, music activities, parachute games and more. It is a great opportunity for group interaction and socialization.Parent participation helps children enjoy this fun-filled activity period. Participants may register for both Fall and Winter sessions at the same time. Space is limited so please register early! See our Romp & Stomp page for complete details.
The Shamrock Shuffle is a 5k running race where all money raised benefits programs and parks you'll want to visit. There is also a 1 mile fun run just before the race. Learn more about the race at Shamrock5K.com.
Lebanon Recreation and Parks offers a variety of sports and camps throughout the year. You can learn more by reviewing our program guides which we publish twice a year for spring/summer and fall/winter programs. These program guides are always posted on our Program Guide page and are distributed in all Lebanon District schools.
Learn about the various camps that are offered and what it means to be a host family on the Challenger Sports website.
Lebanon Recreation & Parks does not run youth baseball, it is run by the Lebanon Youth Baseball Association. We do have printed information in our office and will collect registration forms prior to their deadline. Please visit LebanonYouthBaseball.com for complete details.
Lebanon Recreation & Parks will contact you if there is a cancellation. Primary contact will be via email and posting will be placed on our cancellation page, Facebook, Twitter, and League Lineup. If you need a phone call for cancellations, please be sure to specify that when signing up. We do have text message alerts for sports cancellations.
You can sign up for the Upper Valley Running Club with Lebanon Recreation & Parks Department. Learn more about the running club and races.
If you are interested in volunteering to coach a sport, please contact the Recreation & Parks Department at 603-448-5121. If you are interested in coaching a specific sport, please contact Rick Desharnais.
The Lebanon Solid Waste Facility hours of operation are:
Monday - Friday8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.Scales shut down at 4 p.m.
Saturdays8:30 a.m. - 2 p.m.Scales shut down at 1 p.m.
The Solid Waste Facility is always closed on:
Visit the Lebanon Solid Waste and Recycling Facility.
You can drop off items at the Solid Waste & Recycling Facility.
The Lebanon Police Department has a Pharmaceutical Drop Box installed in their lobby. It’s available 24 hours a day for you to turn in old, unused or discarded pharmaceutical prescriptions. For more information please visit the Pharmaceutical Drop Box page.
Punch cards are NOT available for purchase at the Solid Waste Facility. They may be purchased in person at Lebanon City Hall or at one of the following local vendor locations:
For more information, please refer to our Punch Cards and Permits page.
All commercial haulers must register with the Solid Waste Facility attendant. To establish a commercial account with the Lebanon Solid Waste facility, please visit our Businesses and Haulers information page.
Please refer to our What Goes Where page for complete details.
In New Hampshire, all computer monitors, laptops and televisions are banned from disposal in landfills and incinerators. The Lebanon Recycling Center will accept these items for a fee. Best Buy and Staples will also accept these items at no cost or a small fee depending on the size of the item. Best Buy or Staples should be contacted for up-to-date information. For more information refer to our What Goes Where page.
All containers with numbers 1 through 7 are now being accepted at the Lebanon Recycling Facility. This means that beyond your bottles (caps removed of course) and beyond your laundry soap containers (rinsed, rinsed, and rinsed some more) you can now recycle materials such as yogurt cups, butter and margarine tubs, and deli containers. For more information, please refer to our What Goes Where page.
The recycling facility now accepts the pellet bags only. Please do not mix other types of plastic bags with the pellet bags. Look for a special container at the recycling center to deposit the pellet bags for recycling. For questions please contact the Solid Waste & Recycling Facility.
These bags will be accepted by the supermarket where you bought your groceries. Look for a special container when you enter the store to recycle these bags. More importantly, re-use the bags or purchase the larger reusable heavy duty bags the stores now sell for a small fee to help reduce the use of the older, one-use plastic bags.
Lebanon's tip fee for landfill disposal is $75.00 per ton. There are separate fees for different items such as refrigerators, mattresses, furniture, etc. Please refer to the landfill website for a list of the various fees. Cash/Credit/Debit is NOT accepted at the landfill. Payment must be made through the use of a "punch card" or through a pre-approved account for commercial users. For more information visit our Punch Cards and Permits page.
No, these items can not be recycled at the Lebanon Recycling Center. The recycling markets for these items is not stable. Please dispose of plastic toys, pails and swimming pools appropriately.
The Lebanon Recycling Center is no longer able to accept textiles at the Recycling Center.
The landfill is a great place for bird watching! We have a family of six bald eagles that live nearby and visit us almost daily, a large number and variety of hawks that feed on mice, voles and other animals that live in the closed areas of the landfill. A beaver along the Connecticut River and feral cats that live under a small shelter we have built, are at the site too. The cats are trapped tagged, neutered and released courtesy of the USDA bird and animal control person at the landfill.
The following cannot be placed in the Lebanon Landfill for disposal:
For more information, please visit our Hazard Waste Collection page.
You can view a copy of your current or past tax bill by visiting our payment portal at InvoiceCloud.com/LebNH and clicking on "Real Estate Taxes". To obtain payment information, or if you need assistance in finding your bill, please contact the Tax Collector's office at 603-448-1720.
Accepted payment methods are:
Payment fee for online credit card payment is 2.95% of the total bill amount paid (credit cards accepted: Discover, Amex, Mastercard, Visa). There is no payment fee for paying by e-check. FOR FLEX-PAY OPTION ONLY: There is a 40 cent transaction fee charged for each payment set up through the Flex-Pay option.
Payment fee for over-the-counter credit card payment is 2.79% of the total bill amount paid (credit cards accepted: Discover, Amex, Mastercard, Visa).
The non-refundable payment fee will be charged by and retained by Invoice Cloud to cover the cost of processing your online payment. The City of Lebanon receives no portion of these payment fees. You will have the opportunity to view the payment fee to be charged prior to finalizing your payment.
If your mortgage holder pays your tax bill through your escrow department, it is your responsibility to be sure that they have the information for payment.
Please view our online payment portal.
As long as the postmark is on or before the due date, it is considered timely and will not be subject to interest. Interest charges will begin accruing 31 days after each bill date at an annual rate of 8% until the date of a tax lien implementation at which time the annual rate increases to 14%. There is no added 'grace period' once the bill is due. Note: the interest rate on tax liens executed for taxes due prior to April 1, 2019 will remain at 18%.
The current tax rate for the 2018 tax year is $29.72 per $1,000 of assessed value. The tax rate is set by Municipal Services for the State of New Hampshire sometime in the month of October. The new rate will be shown on the bill that is mailed to you in November.
The tax rate is expressed as dollars per $1,000 of assessed value. The tax for each taxable parcel is calculated by multiplying the parcel’s assessed value by the tax rate, as calculated and approved by the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration (DRA), so the tax for each parcel is at the same percentage of assessed value. The tax therefore, is a tax according to value. The City’s total, or combined, tax rate consists of 4 components: municipal, local school, state school and county.