Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission

Purpose / Charge / Mission 

  1. Enhancing the City’s support for a welcoming environment encouraging cooperation, tolerance, and respect among and by all persons living, working, and visiting the city
  2. Serving as a resource for City government and the community by providing information, education, and communication that facilitates a better understanding and celebrates our differences. 
  3. Advising the City government to ensure the community is united amongst diversity, where everyone is equally respected, valued, needed, and cherished.


Pursuant to Chapter C419:23 of the Lebanon City Charter, there is hereby established a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commission. The Commission shall be comprised of no more than nine (9) voting members appointed by the City Council, including two City Councilors, one alternate City Councilor, seven members of the public and up to four alternate public representatives. The City Manager or his/her designee shall be a permanent non-voting member of the commission.  

The Public Representatives shall be residents of the City of Lebanon and shall be appointed by the City Council and their terms shall be staggered for periods of two years. The City Council representatives shall be appointed by the Mayor annually. 

In determining each member’s qualifications, the appointing authority shall take into consideration the appointee’s ability to assist in the purpose of the commission and their willingness to serve. The appointing authority will seek a broad representation of the community at large.

Commission members will serve without compensation and subject to applicable City policies.  Commission members must comply with the City’s ethics policies and shall refrain from promoting or pursuing personal interests while acting as a member or representing the City.  

The Commission shall have assistance from City staff, as designated by the City Manager.  The Commission shall comply with the rules of decorum as established by the City Council.  


Meeting schedule to be determined. 

How to Apply

The process for applying for membership involves completing a brief application form. The entire list of applicants will be provided to City Council on September 15, 2021, and interviews conducted thereafter.

Deadline: The end of day Wednesday, September 15, 2021

For more information on joining a board or committee, please contact City Clerk Kristin Kenniston at 603-448-3054. Please visit individual Board and Committee pages to view vacancies. 


Voting Members

  • Karen Liot Hill, City Council Representative
  • Devin Wilkie, City Council Representative
  • Karen Zook, City Council Alternate
  • Nancy Graham, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/23
  • Tia Winter, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/23
  • Emily Walton, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/23
  • Bise Wood Saint Eugene, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/23
  • Richard Ford Burley, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/22
  • Renee DePalo, Public Representative
    Term: 11/21 - 11/22
  • Keiselim Montas, Public Representative
    Term 11/21-11/22
  • Vacant, Public Representative Alternate
  • Vacant, Public Representative Alternate
  • Vacant, Public Representative Alternate
  • Vacant, Public Representative Alternate

Non-Voting Members

  • Shaun Mulholland, City Manager

Related Resources